Poet is in Residence

image

Thanks to Frances, pictured here in the lovely kitchen of my beautiful flat for the next month in Edinburgh, I am now officially a poet in residence! This afternoon I have my first stint in the Botanics. I’m going to meet a librarian, which I’m very much looking forward to. I shall report back later!

Later… I have met the librarians and been installed into my booth in the library. The view is of birch trees.

How appropriate! All month I shall be celebrating the Gaelic tree alphabet,  which links a tree to each letter, and the first letter of the alphabet is birch (N.B. the alphabet isn’t in the usual order, and all five vowels come at the end!) My first event is tomorrow at 3pm come along to the  real life science studio and toast our native trees and all the wonderful poetry that has been written about them.

The view from my booth

The view from my booth

Leave a Reply

